Loving Apologetics

I would like to address an issue I have been dealing with while doing internet Apologetic work.

We’ve all encountered it. We lovingly share our faith and our beliefs to refute the hatred that is being posted on some of the websites out there in cyberspace, only to be condemned to hell and spewed all kinds of twisted half-truths about our Catholic faith.

However, there seems to be something going on that I was not aware of. There are Catholics who are contacting these websites too, and are defending the Catholic Faith by using the same, arrogant, legalistic, triumphalistic, scare tactics used by the worst of Fundamentalists.

I am not a professional apologist, but I would suggest that if you feel your pride gets the best of you, and you have trouble keeping yourself from lashing out to anti-Catholics, then maybe you shouldn’t be doing this work. Not yet, anyhow. I would begin by spending more time in prayer, and ask the Lord to help you to overcome these vices. He will.

“If I have the gift of prophesy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.”

I hope I am not offending anyone, however, I am finding that in some cases, these well meaning apologists are doing more harm than good. Leaving the rest of us to do damage control.

God Bless You!

[quote=auntieneeker]I would like to address an issue I have been dealing with while doing internet Apologetic work.

However, there seems to be something going on that I was not aware of. There are Catholics who are contacting these websites too, and are defending the Catholic Faith by using the same, arrogant, legalistic, triumphalistic, scare tactics used by the worst of Fundamentalists.

I am not a professional apologist, but I would suggest that if you feel your pride gets the best of you, and you have trouble keeping yourself from lashing out to anti-Catholics, then maybe you shouldn’t be doing this work.
[/quote]