Lumen Fidei

This is my first attempt at asking a question. I am not yet an enrolled Roman Catholic. I read the Papal Encyclical, Lumen Fidei. One of the many passages that struck me was the following: “48. Since faith is one, it must be professed in all its purity and integrity. Precisely because all the articles of faith are interconnected, to deny one of them, even of those that seem least important, is tantamount to distorting the whole.” My question is, 'Is there a difference between denying an article of faith and failing to implement it?" For example, does using contraceptives place a person within the category of denying the article of faith? I am not interested in judging others. I ask because there is one article of faith I am pondering at the moment. Thanks for any responses. :slight_smile:

If you fail to implement it then you are denying it. This is my opinion.

failing is denying, however using contraceptives is denying and thus failing. Preserving the sacredness of human life is an expression of that one faith in the God of love.

I hope there’s a difference.

I’m curious what you mean by “failing to implement”.

It seems to me that if you haven’t come to a full understanding of the article in question and decide to act in a manner that is contrary to it, that would certainly be sinful, but not necessarily be a denial.

However, if you just decide that you are not going to follow the article and outright reject it because you disagree with its premise, that would seem to constitute a denial, IMHO.

God Bless you in your journey!