Luther's Theology of the Cross

Are there any Lutherans here who have read Alister McGrath’s “Theology of the Cross”? I emerged from reading it with some assertions I would like to run by you:

1. Luther basically was reacting not against Thomism as much as the via moderna.

2. I object to the idea that Christ is revealed solely through the cross. Is that really Luther? I think we have 33 years of Christ on earth revealing God to man, plus the OT.

I have some additional things but I won’t waste typing if no one has read the thing. :slight_smile:

Curious, methinks, for a Reformed Christian to go Luther-bashing on a Catholic forum. :smiley:

I’ve never read it, but I have some knowledge about Lutheran theology/Luther (former Lutheran). Does that count as ok? :slight_smile:

1. Luther basically was reacting not against Thomism as much as the via moderna.

Mainly right. I think it’s generally accepted that Luther’s main issue was with how Biel and Occam approached justification (which bordered if not crossing into pelagianism). Some have said if Luther had been taught “pure” Thomism, the reformation never would’ve happened as he would’ve had a clearer understanding of the Catholic understanding of grace. I don’t know what to think of that as he generally was against any kind of Scholastic influence Melanchthon or others wanted to bring into Lutheranism, but it’s an interesting hypothesis.

1. I object to the idea that Christ is revealed solely through the cross. Is that really Luther? I think we have 33 years of Christ on earth revealing God to man, plus the OT.

Sounds about right. Luther’s main point is that everything in Christ’s life and the OT revolves around the Sacrifice of Christ on the Cross, and that it is only with the Cross in view that the other aspects of his life make sense. It’s not too unlike St. Paul’s theology of the Cross that had a resurgence in Catholic theology with Benedict XVI.