Lying is a sin EVEN if they don't have a "right to know"?

This is my first time starting a thread, so be nice. And hopefully, I have not violated any rules / posted in the wrong section.

Okay, so there’s been a few threads dealing with lying, and all of them have mentioned that it’s not lying if the person being mislead does not have the “right to know”. But here’s the problem: the “right to know” clause has been REMOVED from the Catechism.

The first edition (released in English in 1994) has the following WHITE cover:
catholickermit.files.wordpress.com/2009/11/catechism-of-the-catholic-church-ccc.gif

The Second edition (released in English in 1997) has the following GREEN cover:
ewtnreligiouscatalogue.com/images/catalog/detail/977.jpg

The second edition removed everything from the catechism that narrowed lying to when a person has the “right to know”.

For more information on this change:
scborromeo.org/ccc/updates.htm (shows every change made by second edition)
usccb.org/catechism/general/q&a.shtml (scroll down to very end)
ericsammons.com/blog/2010/03/25/did-i-lie-about-the-catechism-and-lying/ (just a blog post, but gives a good summary)

Forgive me if that seemed over the top, but there’s a lot of confusion surrounding that, and I was confused myself for a while too. So I wanted to lay it out clearly.

My question is this: What does it mean? Can we no longer lie if the person has no right to know? Or does it just mean the CCC will no longer back us up and we need to decide for ourselves?

Thanks in advance!

Why not just be honest in these situations and tell the person, “I’m sorry, that’s not something I can discuss; and I will not.”

Or you may resort to a mental reservation.

Lying

condemnation of, 2485
definition and significance of, 2482
devil as the father of the lie, 392, 2482
gravity of a lie, 2484, 2486
as an offense against the truth, 2483
tempter’s lie as the beginning of sin, 215
ways to discern the truth and the lie, 1954, 2847