Lying = Mortal sin?

Is lying on an exam considered a mortal sin? I am a first-year nursing student and had my practical exam last month. At one station we were required to measure the standardized patient’s pulse on their chest and verbalize the findings to the examiner. I used the proper technique but for some reason could not locate his pulse. As a result, I pretended like I was counting it and made up a value to tell the examiner. I don’t think it would have mattered a great deal in terms of marks, because I used and verbalized the correct technique. Still, I knew it was wrong and I should have been honest about it. Is this type of lying considered a serious sin?

Yes. And I hope you’re not going to be a nurse in any hospital in which I am a patient. On another day it might have been a mistake with bad consequences for the patient.
You’re learning. That’s the point. You should have said…I can’t seem to locate a pulse. But you didn’t and you knew it was wrong.

The truth. It works.

I would have to say that you did not use the correct technique if you could not find a pulse. Your lie is worrisome on two levels- one, from a standpoint of morality. The other, from a standpoint of do you have all the training and have you absorbed all the knowledge you need to have to be a nurse? I tend to agree with the other poster that I hope you are never my nurse, if you “fake it” when you aren’t doing something right. You will be responsible for people’s lives, and that’s no time to fake it.

My suggestion would be to bring this up at Confession, learn what you did wrong in this instance and learn how to do it right, and don’t repeat such an error. In the next instance where you don’t know what you’re doing, you need to admit it so you can be shown how to do it right.

It is helpful to use a stethoscope. You can usually hear the heart beats very loudly with the stethoscope. Also, in general practice, improvising data can be harmful to the patient.