Magic in Fiction

Although I have never watched/read Harry Potter or anything with very much magic and ‘reality’ in it, I am a writer and a loose idea is forming in my head with a magical world. I know ‘Harry Potter’ etc is not sinful. However.

I know any real magic is actually demons/satan, is evil, and a sin. Obviously in my written world that is not the case; magic is a natural force similar to gravity or magnetism that exudes, imperceptibly, from all things. It’s fiction, so nothing sinful there that I can see.
But to actually work magic in my world, one needs to be born with the ability, or at least the capacity. In my world, magical ability is a power of the rational soul, like free will.
Is writing about the soul in this way a sin? It makes logical sense to me. A witch in my universe would have the form witchness the same way a normal human has humanness, and the form of a human is the soul.

This might not make much sense. It’s hard coming up with logical explanations for things that don’t exist!

Also, God (obviously) exists in this story, because other then magic it’s just like real life. And magic isn’t a sin because in this world magic does not come from the devil. Is that also alright?

Thanks. :slight_smile:

I dont think this is something a person needs to be born with, It is something that can be learned, but for the most part, it is a knowledge that has been lost to the ages. It was an art taught to mankind by the fallen angels, and mankind was not supposed to learn of such things.

I think using REAL magic was done by utilizing parts of our brain and ‘inner selves’ that people today do not know how to do, and probably was no accident this art was lost to the ages!