major mormon mistake

My wife converted to Mormonism from jehovahs witness about seven years ago. We have come to a mutual understanding that our beliefs do not line up with each other, but we respect each other. I’m Catholic, and here is my mistake. :

Several months ago, a very nice person from her church asked me if I would be interested in working with their boy scout troop. Since I thought it would be a neutral thing I agreed to help out.
Well, I’ve been doing it now for three months, and the undercurrent of trying to get me involved in their church is getting quite discouraging.
My main focus was perhaps doing something outside of the religion that we both could be together with, but no.
The religion plays a HUGE part in their scouting program, and I feel if I just walk away my wife will develop that religious haughty attitude that the mormons are famous for. ( Believe me it really gets thick at times).
How can I walk away, and preserve the respect, and/or mutual understanding that has developed during the past few months between my wife and the mormon people?
I’m not trying to be a jerk about this, just want to end it on a decent note.

Don’t walk away and live your faith with love and charity. This is opertunity to evangelize your wife and others.
Your wife will see how you are treated and how kind you are to others and side with you as the loving leader of your home.

I personally expericences something similar at an evangical church and my wife eventually sided with a loving husband compared to a mean preacher. It took about 2 years

I’d walk away. If the religion plays a large part of their scouting program I would feel that I am aiding in false teaching that could ultimately cost those children eternal life.

This. And if you want to continue helping in scouting, Im sure you can find a group that meets at a nearby catholic church or someplace secular.

That & This. Both great ideas :smiley: