Marian devotion.....and when it gets too far?

Here’s the thing, I’m actually pretty new in terms of giving my life up for Christ and living the true Catholic faith (so apologies if i’m asking these extremely basic questions).

What are the limits to Marian devotion? I mean I understand that we should not worship her like a goddess, I also understand that we must respect and venerate her VERY MUCH (as she is the Queen of heaven) but what exactly is the middle ground? Should we just ask for her intercession and prayers? Do we dialogue with her? Do we ask her for graces? It just seems to me that the line that divides worship to God and veneration to Mary doesn’t seem to be that clear. I really want to give her what she is due as she is my Queen and my mother.

7 Likes

The line that divides worship of the triune God and veneration of Mary should be crystal clear if you simply remember who God is, and who Mary is. God is your creator and judge. God can grant your requests or send you to hell.

Mary is a friend in heaven, a very powerful friend due to her relationship with Jesus. Mary can sometimes obtain favors for you, but she is not your creator or your judge. Think of her as your mother-in-law. Jesus is your Bridegroom. Mary is His loving mother. Mary loves you, too, as if you were her daughter or son-in-law and she wants you to have a good relationship with her Son.

You can ask her for whatever you need, as long as you remember to give thanks to God, because it is God that grants things to you.

10 Likes

Is there ever such a thing as too strong of a Marian devotion? Look at how devoted to Our Lady many of the Saints have been! Most recently, Pope Saint John Paul II was particularly known for his strong Marian devotion.