Marriage and Family Life Morality Questions

1.) A man and a woman have multiple children together and are living together and supporting each other. Both are Catholic. They are civilly married, but not Sacramentally. They also love each other. Here’s where the question gets sticky: Since they got civilly married outside the Church while they were both Catholic, they are technically sinning by having relations as long as their marriage has not been convalidated. However, the man has a change of heart and desires to return to the Church. He wants to get their marriage blessed, but she doesn’t because she knows she would have to make a promise not to use birth control. He has told her about NFP, but she won’t budge. What is he supposed to do?

2.) This one is much simpler. Is it ever OK not to allow a baby to be baptized?

I’m no expert, but here’s my take.

1. The husband must at all costs avoid mortal sin. If the wife won’t budge on the contraception issue, the couple will have to abstain. If the wife will not accept that, the husband can ask for an annulment. A marriage between two Catholics that didn’t take place in a church with a priest is invalid. This would be different if it were two Muslims that converted to Catholicism. After their conversion, their marriage would be considered valid. Catholics must marry in the church though.

2. Catholics are obligated to raise their children in the faith, which includes all the necessary Sacraments like Baptism. It is a grave sin for a Catholic couple not to do this. Whether it was mortal or not would depend on the circumstances. For example, if a couple is fighting over how to raise the children, the spouse that wants to baptize the children would be only committing a venial sin. The spouse that refuses to baptize the children would be committing a mortal sin.

1.) I see.

2.) I was actually referring to instances when priests refuse to baptize babies of illegitimate marriages. I’ve never understood why.