Marriage Question

A couple gets a married in Vegas, neither are catholic. Years later they divorce. The wife remarries. Now 20 years later decides to become catholic. Now she refuses to have sex with her husband that she’s been married to for 20 years claiming it’s because the church says so.
I want to know if this is true. Why would any religion tell a couple they couldn’t have sex after being married so long

I am not an expert, but I have a hunch. (I’m not sure I agree with the argument, to begin with.) Why would this woman feel this way? That’s a big gap in the story.

The Catholic Church views marriage as a covenant – period. A covenant is not a contract. In a covenant, people give themselves to each other. Jesus says that what God has joined together, no man should put asunder.

So, perhaps she view her second marriage really as an adulterous one, and thus invalid. Depending on the judgement of a Catholic marriage tribunal or a bishop, they may want to have the first marriage examined as to whether it was itself valid.

This might be the sketch of an answer, but these situations are always more complicated than is stated here.

The wife says she was told this by a deacon at the church.

I’ve told the husband that I think it’s baloney. All of this was done before she became Catholic. I don’t think they would make her jump through hoops like this. They have issues. I think it’s just another excuse for her not to have relations with her husband for whatever reason

Two non-Catholics marrying in Vegas is a valid marriage. The Church views this as a valid marriage unless and until it is proved otherwise. The couple obtained a civil divorce but that doesn’t end the marriage.

This all should have been addressed before she came into the Church. Usually, in such cases, the first marriage is looked at to see if it was valid and an annulment can be sought before the person is welcomed into the Church.