Married Folks: Tell me about praying with your spouse

I feel like I have read all the advice about praying with one’s spouse or spouse-to-be, and I still feel a bit lost. I feel a little raw because I’ve already had one husband decide to leave me when I started practicing Catholicism again (I was lapsed when we got married). Now that I’ve found a Christian I want to consider marrying, I want to put in some knee time with him, but to be honest, I don’t know what praying with one’s spouse even looks like!

So, please tell me *from your own experience *what it was like to start praying with your spouse and what your joint prayer life looks like today. I think it would help immensely.

Pax,
-MM-

I dont think there is a set formula. My spouse and I initially felt a bit awkward about it. So we began by saying the our father together before we went to bed. Eventually we started memorizing certain prayers and reciting them together. Set prayers can be an easy way to start because they dont involve the person to speak in their own words. Ideally, your heart should be in the prayer even if it is a set prayer ofcourse.

After you feel conferrable with set prayers, you might consider asking your spouse if there is something they would like you to pray about. For example, he may say that his job has been really stressful lately - at which point YOU pray for his job. This is a good intermediate step because your talking about the other person and they often feel really appreciative you asked.

Once you get confertable with that, you guys can open it up to general prayer. Thanking God for everything he has given, making a petition, or simply worshiping him etc… either consecutively or at the same time. One other suggestion I would make is to write down the things you want to say in a short bullet list. You shoudlnt spend your mental energy trying to remember what you want to say to God. You should focus that time towards putting your heart into the prayer.

Hope this helps,