Mary as Eve.

Hi all, this is my 1st post so here goes…,
I am a practicing Anglican who am finding myself increasingly drawn to the RCC. I have been attending RCIA at my local parish for 4 yrs now and despite all the ups and downs of considering conversion (and prayer!), I felt that the answer I’d been waiting for was revealed to me at Mass on 2nd sunday of Easter. As a result, I intend to 'cross the Tiber next Easter. :slight_smile:
My wife is also Anglican and will remain so, but she is of the opinion that ‘I have to do what is right for me’, in fact, as a result of this process, we have both deepened our faith and discipleship, and of course, will continue to encourage that although our paths might differ slightly!
I have read a lot of Scott Hahn’s books, (which I really like), and am currently his book, ‘Hail Holy Queen’. about the virgin Mary from a biblical perspective.
As a result, I understand her role now ; as our mother/mother of God/Queen mother/the new Eve and ark of the New Covenant, (plus I also like praying the Holy Rosary).
However…, I am stuck on an argument Scott puts forward in Ch2… he relates the point where hanging on the cross Jesus calls his mother ‘woman’, to Gen 2:23 where 'woman is the name Adam gives to Eve. He then states that, “Jesus, then, is addressing Mary as Eve to the New Adam”.
I get this point as it stands, but, does not Christ call the ’ woman at the well ’ woman too? and what about His address to Mary Magdelene , whom he also calls ’ woman ’ at the Resurrection? I seem to be stuck on this!
Can anyone help?
I know it’s not a major stumbling block, but its just niggling at me!:confused:
Blessings

Stuart.

Stuart,

I don’t think that Hahn is attempting to claim that the only usage of the word “woman” (even in the context of Scripture) is as a referent to ‘Eve’. However, I think I would suggest that, in this particular case, Hahn sees the use of this form of address as hearkening back to the way that Adam addressed Eve.