Mary, Sola Scriptura, and the Eucharist--in one hour!

Although I am only an amateur apologist (if that), I am scheduled to give my first talk about apologetics to a group of high school girls. They they want me to cover Sola Scriptura, the Eucharist, and Mary in about an hour. That’s a lot for an hour, so I would really appreciate any advice on what to put in (and even more on what to leave out).

So, if you only had 15 minutes for each topic (leaving time for intro and conclusion), what would you find most important to discuss? Keep in mind that the audience is high school girls who probably haven’t had a lot of exposure to apologetics, even though they’re involved with their faith.

I would say stick to the scripture alone subject the most. Once its realized that this is an unbiblical and not a historical view of christianity, other apologetics fall in place.

at least this was the most important issue to me in my conversion.

and for mary and the eucharist, look at scott hahn’s books hail, holy queen and the lambs supper. these two books can be quoted and quoted,…soooooo good.

just wanted to say we’re praying for your talk, Grace and Glory!

Wow, you like a challenge, eh?

Sola Scriptura…easy. Explain to them what it is, then offer them a $100 Old Navy gift card for the first girl that can find where in scripture it says that the bible is the one and only source.

Eucharist…I would talk about sacraments in general being a physical sign of an invisible reality. Quote the scripture that supports it. Describe to them the veil between Heaven and Earth parting as an angel takes the offering to the alter of God to be transformed and returned as the body, blood, soul, and divinity. Activate their imagination.

Mary…remind them that she was about their age when she became the mother of our Lord. Talk about what it means to be full of grace.

I know that’s short on detail, but those are some highlights I would hit.