mass question

Hello all,

I am new to Catholicism, and have been reading and learning much. I also attend Mass. I feel a little dense even asking this question, but here goes: Can someone tell me in layman’s terms what is meant by the “sacrifice of the Mass?” I keep reading about this, but somehow I just don’t quite get it. I know that Catholics are accused of crucifying Jesus over and over at Mass, but I don’t believe this is what is going on. Thanks in advance.

Sheri

We believe that when the priest consecrates the bread and the wine that Jesus’s sacrifice becomes “present” again on the altar.

This is not the same as sacrificing Him "again"
Instead - it means we believe that His ONE sacrifice becomes present at the mass, and that the bread and wine actually become His body and blood.

We recognize that God is not bound by the dimensions of space and time. This sacrifice is the perfect sacrifice that replaced the imperfect animal sacrifices of the Old covenant.

So, is that where the “do this in remembrance of me” comes in? I know that some Protestant churches object to Christ always being on the cross in Catholic churches, but if I am understanding it correctly, the offering of the sacrifice Jesus made (the Eucharist )is to celebrate (right word?) or always commemorate what he did for us on the cross. Am I getting it?

The Church also says that his sacrifice on the cross was pre-presented at the Last Supper, the night before he died. At the Last Supper, on the Cross, and at each and every Mass, he offers himself to his father for the forgiveness of sins, and offers us himself in the Most Holy Sacrament of the Altar. It the one single sacrifice being offered, but manifested in different times and places.