Mass without communion today!?!?!?!?!

Hi everyone,

As I’m sure everyone here knows, today is a day of Holy Obligation - the Assumption.

I want to go at 12:15, but not sure if it will take longer than normal because the Bishop is presiding, which is neat, but I only have an hour for lunch.

What if I go - but dont take communion - does that make it null and void?

I woudl think not, because if you are in mortal sin (which I dont think I’m in) and you dont take communion, you still have to go to the Mass, does that makes sense?

Vester

No it does not make it null and void. When you go please say a prayer for me, I’m a pilot and will be flying during Mass, no chance to go, although I plan to watch Mass on EWTN, still not valid, best I can do.

Are you a military pilot or with a big company? If so, isn’t there a chaplain who can fly with you?

Your Mass is still valid if you don’t receive Communion. I’m fixing to leave and go to Our Lady of the Angels Monastery (EWTN) and go to their noon Mass, which is only about five miles from where I work. I gotta leave soon to make sure I get a seat in the chapel. Otherwise, I’ll end up in St. Michael’s hall on the side, which isn’t as nice. :slight_smile: God bless.

I don’t think we are allowed to skip the Liturgy of the Eucharist. If I were you, I would look for a time in the evening to go, or else just let the boss know that you are going to be a bit late getting back from lunch because of some personal business.

Every day of Holy Obligation (including Sunday) also has its very valid excuses as to not go.

If you are so sick you cant go, then you cant go.

If you are obligated by the military to fly a plane during that time period, then that is what you have to do, and God knows it.

If it makes you feel better, go to Confession?

Thanks everyone - I’m getting ready to head out! :slight_smile:

Vester