Masturbation due to vivid dreams

I have searched and search, but have yet to find a thread asking exactly what I need to ask.

I converted to Catholicism this year. Before becoming catholic, I believed masturbation was okay.

Since becoming catholic, I am still trying very hard to quit in case the church it right. (It is not a dogma, therefore it’s rule that doesn’t preach infallibility. Here is the link explaining different teaching of the catholic church richardgaillardetz.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/disagreement.pdf)

I believe I am or was addicted to masturbation before becoming catholic, as I’ve been doing it for over ten years. Started when I was 10 or 11 and I am now 22. The longest I’ve gone was three weeks without doing it.

I tend to have extremely vivid sexual dreams that often cause me to masturbate. I must stress that I am awake when I masturbate, however sometimes it right after I awake. These dreams greatly trigger me and it is so difficult to stop myself. What am I supposed to do when my triggers are my own dreams that I cannot stop? Am I under mortal sin every time? I definitely feel like it’s against my will to have those dreams and be so triggered, but maybe I could fight the urge harder? I even tried to get up and distract myself one time, but still failed.

The Church’s teaching on the sinfulness of masturbation is an infallible teaching.

It is best to speak to a confessor about this. Due to your history of addiction to masturbation, your culpability might be mitigated, but a priest would be the one to help you figure this out.

No. It falls under authoritative doctrine. " Authoritative doctrine includes teachings that the
magisterium proposes authoritatively, but not infallibly, to guide the faith of believers. "