Mathematical thinkers and the infinity of God

I have two goals in this post:

1.To collect a list of the many clever thinkers on the forums who use mathematical models, examples, and concepts to help reason through theological and philosophical issues. (This will be a resource and a guide leading me back to particular threads I might enjoy.)

2.I am also curious to hear if anyone has seen or constructed a proof other than a variant of Anselm’s Ontological that would show why God has to have an infinite amount of each property x.

Look forward to meeting you and to hearing your thoughts!

Hi, unfortunately I’m not trained in the fields of philosophy or mathematics.

However, since I’m a student of history I can think up some people who might have mathematical models.

Blaise Pascal or Rene Descartes might have. I need to read there work though.

I’m not a mathematician, or versed in formal logic, but I’ll have a go at it.

If each property x has a boundary, that is, it’s not infinite in itself, then for God to be infinite He would then need to have an infinite number of properties. But is that possible?

You’ve only then got two choices -

1. He has an infinite amount of each property x, or …

2. He has an infinite number of finite properties.

But since we can’t prove either case, then it remains conjecture.

Nice approach, Bob. What if we step back one step, though, and ask: Why does God need to be infinite (the set up in your main if/then statement)? Why not just, say, 1,000 times more x or y (or “being”) than the universe (or the next thing in the hierarchy of being.)

Let’s take the zero point ie. absolute nothingness.

Then it explodes so to speak. Or in religious terminology, out of the void the Logos speaks.

There is nothing to stop it, so it must move to infinity. I suppose that’s one way of describing it.