Meatless Fridays

Last night at bible study, one of our group members said that Meatless Fridays had its start because of the fishermen in Italy needing an outlet for their catch and that it is a TOTALLY man made (t)radition which need NOT be followed on all Fridays of the year (except Ash Wednesday and Lent).

Does anyone know the the church teaching concerning this practice and the Authentic history? As a convert, I have no background in this practice.

It was made up by man long time ago to get closer to god by ‘fasting’ for a night. Its not fasting if you are eating other food but the meat part of your meal is considered the ‘real meal’. The bible never says you can’t eat meat on friday. Eating meat on friday is not a sin in gods terms. Although I’m a vegetarian in the first place so I guess for me it doesn’t matter! Actually, sometimes I do have meat, but very very very little.

There is also this too in realtion to your post:

“The tradition of eating fish on Fridays and not other meat was, strangely enough, for ecomomical purposes.Back when the religion was smaller, most of it’s members where poor fishermen.So in order to help their trade,the church decreed that all catholics should eat fish on every Friday.Eventually this was changed to be done only during Lent but it was originally done to help the fishermen’s trade.”

Read more: Why can’t catholics eat meat on Fridays , during lent | Answerbag answerbag.com/q_view/169383#ixzz10vCHH0IQ

However i want you to know that it says NOWHERE in the bible that you cant eat meat on friday. It is NOT a sin in gods eyes, only the church.

Thank you for your response BlueShadow. I realize that Meatless Fridays is not in the bible (but then again, the bible is not my sole rule of faith as I believe that the Church came first), but what I was after was the Offical Church teaching concerning this.