Medieval Catholicism in Italy

Hi there,
I’m new here to these forums so I don’t know much nor am I Catholic. However, I find forums are generally a good jump start to meeting people who have information on a variety of topics.

I’m a fiction writer and I’m looking for information regarding Medieval Catholicism from both Catholic and secular sources. I’m not sure which time period I would like to base my piece in just yet, so an overall view of Medieval Catholicism is sufficient. I would like to base the work in Italy, though.

I’m largely concerned with modes and practices, the mores and values of the people, their culture and way of life and how they viewed their theology. So any help in this regard would help.

Thanks. :thumbsup:

http://k4ul.com/files/images/San%20Damiano%20Cross.img_assist_custom.jpg

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Francis_of_Assisi

Well, St. Francis of Asissi is a good start: the movie, “Brother Sun, Sister Moon” christianitytoday.com/movies/reviews/brothersunsistermoon.html has that pertinent part, where the Young Francis, sees, this Crucifix in a broken down Church and it is likened, a metaphor, that the Catholic Church is suffering from the same general state. This cross of San Damiano, so humble and those eyes and image of Jesus relays a message to him and it could be just something he sensed, I am not aware of the details,** “Francis, rebuild my church.” **

Previously, Francis had in fact, been in the army of the estate/state wars of Italy: but the life of a soldier was not for him.

So, with the famous St. Anthony de Padua being another Franciscan and of course, St. Bonaventure, this orginates in medieval times, oh, and one can not forget St. Clare as well who St. Francis knew.

It really is a good starting place, He seems to be the largest Christian figure historically to me at least after the time of Christ, but lived such a humble life, seeking and trying to be like Christ.

I’d suggest the following books by Regine Pernoud.