Melania Trump orders removal of the near-200-year-old tree from the White House

Newsweek became The Onion so gradually that I barely noticed.

3 Likes

The tree is sick and could collapse. Is this the first lady’s job requirement? Tending to old trees?

3 Likes

The article paints this as a reasonnable decision advanced by experts, with plans to propagate offshoots of the tree. What is the problem?

2 Likes

I thought she was going to tend to Twitter bullies.

1 Like

She needs to change his Twitter password. :grin::wink: I honestly didn’t know that landscaping was under the first lady’s duties to oversee. I’m not good at gardening.

It had a good run…

It sounds like there was no other choice, and if it collapsed it could endanger those who
stand there when Marine One lands and departs. They will save the seeds and replant
a tree in its place. So, in the end, I see nothing wrong with the decision.

1 Like

If you’ve seen one tree, you’ve seen them all.

“Newsweek became The Onion so gradually that I barely noticed.”

That doesn’t make any sense. It’s a valid news story.

It sounds more like the US National Arboretum made the informed decision to remove this tree before it maims or kills somebody standing near it, and the First Lady merely rubber-stamped the decision.

I’m glad they will re-plant some progeny of the tree. 200 years is a mighty long time for a tree like that to live, so it was probably way past its normal expiration date.

3 Likes

Traditionally, the wives have tended to things regarding the house and grounds. She made a well informed reasonable decision.

P.S. the Christmas decorations were pretty also,.

2 Likes