mercygate--Haugen Songs Cat Likes!

Hi, mercygate,

I was going to PM you, but then it got long and then I thought, maybe someone else would be interested.

You said something about “pastoral appreciation.” Good for you, trying to put yourself in someone else’s shoes and understand how they think and why they think that way!

This is a long post and I’ll do it in several pieces. Hope it’s not too tedious.

My Soul in Stillness Waits
Return to God
Tree of Life
Sing Out, Earth and Skies
We Remember
Eye Has Not Seen
We Are Many Parts
Gather Us In

Blessed Are They (Haas)
Without Seeing You (Haas)
I Am The Bread Of Life (Toolan)
Ashes (Conry)

This is a partial list of some of my favorite “Catholic” songs by Haugen and a few by other “despised” composers.

It might help you to know some of my background.

I was trained in classical piano for ten years. I started playing piano in church (Conference Baptist) when I was 12, and learned a definite “praise” or “gospel” style. I had my first “salaried” piano position in church when I was in 8th grade.

I majored in music for a year in college (Northern Illinois University), but decided to switch to medical technology so I would be guaranteed a job. But I continued to take music classes and was a member of the huge University Chorus and the Madrigals.

While I was growing up, I was a member of the oldest continuously-active music club in the U.S., and to this day, I am still a member, and active in various youth musical activities.

I have written over 70 Christian songs, mainly for children, but I’ve published none of them. I wish I could, but I know very little about the publishing business. It seems to be a “club” of sorts, and it’s hard to gain admission. So I allow anyone to use my songs at no charge. If I may say so without sounding like a braggart, kids, even 5th grade boys, love my songs. I still get the occasional piece of “fan mail” from a kid that has grown up.