Mess at new job

I got a call from a former boss who was being transfered to another location. She asked me if I could possibly return to work, as the current dept. Was a mess.

The job offered to me is way less than my qualifications, but she assured me the manager was leaving already asked to step down, but manager refused, but my former manager said the other upper management knew she was incompetant and she would be leaving soon and I would replace her.

My former bosses boss is new. She asked me to sign a paper regarding sales goals which were high but doable. But not with my incompetant manager running things.

I accepted the job with mysalary more than most in this department.I am a salees manager, but right now until the incompetant manager leaves.

I am on week 2. The dept is a mess, my manager can not figure out simple sales goals, does not know percentages and just sells and gets mad if I sell more. She is not doing her job and I am hoping new upper management was informed about her being incompetant because I accepted this job under the condition she was leaving.

What do I do? I am new and do not want to rock the boat but this is unreal.

Thank u,
Mommy k

You may be 'new' in that you've take a new role, but you're experienced in that you've apparently been there before.

Take it up with the higher management and illustrate to them that which you have just illustrated here, together with some evidence.

Then leave it up to them to sort it out.

I take it that you had not left another job for this one? You were previously not working? If that's the case, you have nothing to lose by 'rocking the boat' - from a professional point of view it seems like this is a boat that needs rocking!

"She asked me to sign a paper regarding sales goals which were high but doable. But not with my incompetent manager running things. "

I think you've been put in the position of sacrificial lamb.