Methodist Neighbour

Hi,

I have a neighbour I’ve been seeing often at the bus stop that picks up our kids. He is a pastor and I’m able to work at home along with my wife.

Anyway, he said he was Methodist. I asked him if he was Calvinist or Wesleyan. He said his church was Arminian.

I have no real experience talking to protestants. Any tips on how to approach someone with his background? We have kept things very social so car, and my kids play with their kids. So I don’t want to push him into a debate or anything like that. But what kinds of things might provide food for thought for someone like him who is a pastor? Any really effective seeds I can plant! :slight_smile:

I found this wiki on Classical Arminianism. Maybe we could start here?

[LIST]
*]Depravity is total: Arminius states “In this [fallen] state, the free will of man towards the true good is not only wounded, infirm, bent, and weakened; but it is also imprisoned, destroyed, and lost. And its powers are not only debilitated and useless unless they be assisted by grace, but it has no powers whatever except such as are excited by Divine grace.”[16]
*] Atonement is intended for all: Jesus’s death was for all people, Jesus draws all people to himself, and all people have opportunity for salvation through faith.[17]
*] Jesus’s death satisfies God’s justice: The penalty for the sins of the elect is paid in full through Jesus’s work on the cross. Thus Christ’s atonement is intended for all, but requires faith to be effected. Arminius states that “Justification, when used for the act of a Judge, is either purely the imputation of righteousness through mercy… or that man is justified before God… according to the rigor of justice without any forgiveness.”[18] Stephen Ashby clarifies: “Arminius allowed for only two possible ways in which the sinner might be justified: (1) by our absolute and perfect adherence to the law, or (2) purely by God’s imputation of Christ’s righteousness.”[19]