Mid-20's Life Crisis and other Humourous Life Ruminations

Okay, I don’t want to be overly biographical here, but it’s kind of necessary to illustrate my point so here’s just a few thoughts that sprang to mind today whilst I was making lunch.

My situation in life is a bit odd as I graduated from college at 19, feeling much too young to handle the responsibilities of adult life that my peers were taking on. Instead, I chose to attend graduate school for 3 years following college to obtain my law qualifications. Again, the school was private and Catholic and I made a number of very good friends there. Most exceeded my age by 4-8 years. During these three years, I was not in any relationships though I turned down several very kind individual’s suggestions for such. Though I felt somewhat guilty at the time, my reasoning was that I did not feel mature enough to take that step.

Following graduation, I sat for the bar examination and continued to practise law for another year while the economy took a drastic turn for the worst. As job prospects continued to decline, I picked up everything to travel halfway around the world to gain my international legal qualifications and “start afresh” somewhere else. Fast-forward to today where I am currently: quite possibly over-educated, most definitely underpaid, over-burdened with educational debt and wondering whether I made a wrong turn somewhere.

I’m freely willing to admit that these musings are somewhat spurred by the knowledge that I’m missing my good friend’s wedding back home today. A good friend who’s invitation to date I turned down those years back. And, as most of my peers are settling down and beginning to embrace all the responsibilities of adulthood, I find myself feeling like I am out in the world just…floating.