Midnight Mass and clothing

Ok, this is my first year as a Catholic and it is going to be my first year going to Midnight Mass. What do people wear? Is it more casual because it is midnight or do I need to break out my dress and heels like I would on a Sunday/ Holy Day of Obligation?

This is NOT a modesty thread. I just need to know what is appropriate for *this particular Mass. * Thanks! :slight_smile:

In most of the US, people dress warmly for Midnight Mass, meaning that they are heavily bundled up. Fashion is the last thing on their minds. Of course, I am a man. What do I know?

lol. I’m in Florida and this past Sunday I wore a knee length, short sleeved dress. I doubt I need to bundle up. lol. Maybe I should have said where I live. :blush:

Dress like you would for a holy day of obligation I guess, since it is. There is no Mass that is more ‘casual’ than any other though.

It is ten below zero in Iowa right now.

Oh, that is awful!

It has been my experience that Midnight Mass was dress up. This was up north so like someone mentioned usually coats were also worn this time of year. So you ended up in a packed Church holding or sitting on your coat. :slight_smile:

It’ll probably be 20 degrees Fahrenheit when I leave for Midnight Mass. I usually wear a dress (I’m in the choir) to Midnight Mass and this year should be no exception, despite the ice storm we just had. I have a bright red woolen dress that has worked for me and that’s what I plan on this year, too. I’ve lost so much weight in the past year that this may be the last year I can wear that particular dress.

I’ll be the cantor for our 6:00 pm mass - I’ll wear slacks and a festive top because I’m too visible and too busy to have time to worry about the fall of my dress.

I’ll be the cantor with a choir at the 9:00 am mass - I’m still undecided as to what I will wear to that mass.

Whoa, that is cold !

Well, that’s relative, I suppose. I like cold, so -10 wouldn’t bother me :slight_smile: