Missed Vocation

I had a couple of experiences where God indicated what my vocations were (marriage and career-wise). My faith failed and I effectively said no to God, despite many opportunities to say yes. Will God ever call me again? I feel spiritually dead.

[quote="c333, post:1, topic:218263"]
I had a couple of experiences where God indicated what my vocations were (marriage and career-wise). My faith failed and I effectively said no to God, despite many opportunities to say yes. Will God ever call me again? I feel spiritually dead.

[/quote]

I am sorry that you feel this way. There is always hope. I put God off on things in my life for 30 to 35 years. I just finally surrendered to him on my knees and told Him I would do what He wanted, not what I wanted. Actually, I don't believe God ever stops calling you, I think we just stop listening. Anyway, after 17 years out of school, I will be 62, I am studying for my masters in pastoral theology and will be devoting the rest of my life to God's plans, not my own. So don't give up. Just give yourself to Him and let Him tell you what He wants you to do at this point in your life. I know 30 years ago I should have done what I am doing now, but I refused him. So He never gives up on you, we only give up on Him.

I hope this will help you.

your vocation today is your state in life today, yes God can call you at any time to change that and move in another direction (your career is not necessarily your vocation, but a way to live it out). What he will not do is tell you to be unhappy in or neglect the duties of your current vocation due to remorse or guilt.

Thank you both for your answers, they do both give some hope. I guess my fears are that since I didn't perservere, I'm going to hell anyway, and God doesn't seem to be guiding me at all. I feel like I have no sense of intuition and a diminished conscience (if any). I used to be very conscientious, but have compromised my work ethic and integrity.