Missing Mass

I am a student about to go on a field trip with my school. However, the trip is over the weekend and I won’t be able to go to mass. I go to a public school and since there’s a separation of church and school, and other issues, I probably wont be able to go to a church even if there is one near by.
I wanted to know if its a mortal sin if I miss mass during such circumstances.

Assuming the field trip is a necessity for you, you can ask your pastor for a dispensation from your Sunday obligation beforehand. If you have been dispensed from your Sunday obligation for that weekend, then it’s not sinful not to go.

If there are other Catholic students going with you, then perhaps you should all approach your teacher together, to see if some arrangement can be made. If any of the teachers or adults going with you are Catholic, perhaps they can help as well by offering to supervise you.

You really ought to call your Parish and speak with your Pastor about this.

On a personal note however, I don’t see how anyone could KEEP you from going to Mass if you so chose to. If I were a teenager in a Public School and I were Catholic, which I am, I would make sure that I didn’t miss Mass and that if some circumstance were coming up where I was aware that I might miss Mass I would talk to the Priest in advance. He could dispence you from Mass (not sure if that is the correct wording as I’ve never had to do this), IF it were truly for a good reason.

Could you ask your teachers/chaperones if you can attend Mass?

Call your priest and ask him.

I would think that the school would absolutely take you to Mass, given that it’s EASTER!

Edit:
Nevermind that Easter business.

Its not on Easter.
Its the Sunday after Easter.
Divine Mercy Sunday.

Have you let them know that you would like them to make arrangements for you to go to Mass either Saturday evening or Sunday morning?