Mixed Marriages: some Traditional questions with some Council seasonings

I’m a graduate of Thomas Aquinas College, and I am the product of a mixed marriage. My mom is an Irish Catholic, and my dad is an Indian Hindu. This has been tough at times, but has thus far helped my faith grow in unique and incredible ways, such that I wish to become a Dominican priest.

I published a note on Facebook taking some of my schoolmates (not personally, that would be uncharitable) to task regarding a prejudice about mixed marriages, namely, an active discouragement from pursuing one. Of all the people at TAC, I’m pretty familiar with the potential problems, and this let to some very awkward conversations with the upperclassmen, who became somewhat, shall we say, set in their ways regarding how they viewed such unions. I am more ecumenical (for the record, I hate that word, because of the abuses of its use) regarding mixed marriages, because I don’t buy that the Baltimore has the last word on it, tone wise. But just to be explicit, I will give the trend of the conversation resulting from this note.

I argued that while mixed marriages have special difficulties, more so than marriages between two Catholics, we ought not to be discouraged from thinking that one may not be in our calling. The size of the Cross does not exclude God from sending it to someone. I gave references to various examples of extraordinary vocations (like the prophet Amos in today’s reading, David fighting Goliath, and Christ asking Peter to walk on water.) All this was to say “Be not afraid” to those who feared to enter into a relationship with a non-Catholic.