"Modernizing" Catholicism

I’m new to Catholicism, I’ve just begun my journey into the faith. And to begin with, let me say that I’m coming into this with a hard time accepting some things like not using birth control, condemning gay people, etc. I have done little research into those types of areas, but since everything else is pointing me to the fact that this is God’s Church, I am proceeding, and have decided to have faith that God will help me to understand in time.

Now, my questionis this: In Catholic history, from what I can tell, there have often been groups of people who wanted to change important teachings - like King Henry who wanted to divorce his wife. (Sorry if I’ve got any of that wrong, I know the basic story is there, but as I said, I’m new to all this) And the Church refuses to compromise. So those groups leave, and form other religions, based on the Catholic religion. So, for all of those people that think the Catholic Church should change doctrine that is so well established, why do they think this way? Why would the Church do so now, when they wouldn’t before?

I’m not trying to begin a debate on whether the issues are correct or not, I want to understand why people would think the Church would change?

[quote=MistyF]I’m new to Catholicism, I’ve just begun my journey into the faith. And to begin with, let me say that I’m coming into this with a hard time accepting some things like not using birth control, condemning gay people, etc. I have done little research into those types of areas, but since everything else is pointing me to the fact that this is God’s Church, I am proceeding, and have decided to have faith that God will help me to understand in time.