Morality as Hotel Front Desk Clerk

Hello everyone. I work as a hotel front desk clerk where I regularly check people in and out of the hotel, among many other things. Is it a sin to check a homosexual couple in to a room? I know no one cannot know for sure if a couple is in a homosexual relationship, but when two men or women share the last name it is hard not to think that.

Use charity and don’t be presumptuous. I have used hotel rooms with my sister. I have traveled with business associates of the same sex. What about people who use it as a no tel motel place to cheat?

None of your business.

No, and why would it be?

You job is to do the paperwork involved to give a customer access to a service, not question the state of their souls.

Would you think you were sinning if you helped a couple with different last names?

And why would you assume that 2 woman/men with the same last name would be homosexuals? I travel with my sister in law occasionally, we share the same last name.:shrug:

I have had men and woman hold and hands, and men and women that are open about being homosexuals.

I don’t think it is a sin. If it is bothering you try finding another job. If you like the job, keep it:)

It’s an opportunity for prayer rather than judgment.

Who is to say they are not just friends? They could be gay and friends not in a relationship. Not selling a cake is one thing, refusing shelter on a hunch is another.
I think the post that spoke of a prayer opportunity has it right.

I don’t think it’s a sin for you but that it’s a sin for them.

Cooperation in other’s sinful behavior can certainly be a sin, I don’t know why everyone is so shy about this fact. Whether you sin or not is in the details of a specific situation. It is likely that in most situations you don’t have enough information to make such a decision. They certainly deserve the benefit of the doubt.

you are there to do a job if you don’t like that job then find a different job