Morality of DNR orders

Are DNR (do not resuscitate) orders morally just? I’ve learned from watching the documentary Life Itself that there was such an order concerning the late Roger Ebert.

I used to work as a paramedic.

I certainly hope they are moral.

All they do is try to reverse what God’s intentions actually are.

As medics…if we find someone who is seriously sick, elderly and knocking on death’s door already…what good would it do to try and chemically or electrically kick start their lives again?
But that is our job and we have the medicine and technology to bring someone back.

However it would make them sicker and it’s just delaying the inevitable.

Most families have a hard time with it because they just aren’t ready to see their loved one go yet.

God wants us to go when He is ready…a DNR actually helps with this process.

People are permitted to die, yes.

DNRs are a refusal of extraordinary medical care, and are thus morally acceptable, because people are allowed to refuse extraordinary medical treatment.

I agree DNR orders are moral. I had a recent cancer scare and thought about this quite a bit. Trying to decide where I’d want the line drawn. We as humans have the right to die with dignity (not talking about euthanasia). I knew what my limit would be as far as treatment in regards to quality of life, distress on my family, and quite frankly financially.

So yes, I would have had a DNR order set long before I became sick enough to need it. Fortunately the cancer scare was just that, a scare.

Yes, but not everyone should have one.

You also want to make sure that a DNR means just that.

Some medical professions see it as more. Yes, I had a nurse ask why someone was still receiving their maintenance medication since they had a DNR. Um, DNR means to not use extraordinary means to keep someone alive. Giving someone their insulin isn’t extraordinary means. :shrug: