Morden Catholic Theology and Bible Criticism

I am interested in Catholic Theology and how Catholics critcally veiw the Bible today. I am pretty new to the subject.

I understand that there are liberal and conservitive veiws. I want to know the key issues of debate and what they disagree upon.

I saw a book by Geza-Verns and he is given a sort of thumbs up by the newspaper “Catholic Herald”. Is this a good place to start?

Geza Vermes is not a Catholic scholar, but a secular one. Being a 6th year biblical studies student and having read some of his stuff, I can say that he’s very solid when it comes to the dead sea scrolls. As a NT scholar he belongs to the school known as biblical minimalism which is your far left school amongst secular studies, which i dont agree entirely with as a catholic (maybe bits and pieces here and there but not much). I would suggest before you pick up any book by any scholar that you acquaint your self with the historical-critical method and things like the documentary hypothesis when it comes to OT scholarship. Look up the basic overview of biblical criticism and historical-critical method and any other baisc info you might want on wikipedia also involving NT studies. it can give you a good, general overview.