Mormon confession

I know that in your church that you have to answer a list of questions. What happens to you if you lie about those questions? As in having a family and not taking care of them? Providing for them? If you get caught, what happens?

Just curious about this.

Sorry, I have no experience with this one.

My theory is that, at a minimum, they would ask for your Recommend to be returned. If it was a matter of serious sin, then there might be a disciplinary council convened to consider disfellowship, and possibly exing. I have no idea what they would do in the example given, but the response would likely vary greatly from bishop to bishop.

Still, just to be clear, there is no analog in the mormon church to the process used in the RCC for “Confession”. There are interviews done annually for renewing ones recommend, and prior to being issued a calling, but no formal confessional interview.

Sorry I couldn’t be more helpful.

So, it is not analogous to confession, forgiveness of sin is not involved, it is just to determine if you are living your life in a worhty enough manner to merit temple participation?

How strong are teachings about forgiveness of sin? Is there a distinction between consciously deciding to turn away from virtuous behavior, and behavior that may be considered wrong, but is more due to psychological problems?? In other words, is there a continuum of guilt or culpability?

[quote=Jerusha]So, it is not analogous to confession, forgiveness of sin is not involved, it is just to determine if you are living your life in a worhty enough manner to merit temple participation?

How strong are teachings about forgiveness of sin? Is there a distinction between consciously deciding to turn away from virtuous behavior, and behavior that may be considered wrong, but is more due to psychological problems?? In other words, is there a continuum of guilt or culpability?
[/quote]