MOT?

My boss, who is also the owner of the company I work for, is Jewish. He has lately developed the annoying habit of asking people he meets if they are “MOT”. That means he is asking if they are a “member of the tribe”.

My understanding is that the destruction of the temple in the 1st century left “no stone unturned”. Thus, they have no tribe, no priesthood, no nothing. Right?

I am not a history expert, but I know a lot of people here are. I’d be interested in any comments concerning the actual history of “the tribe” and its actual lineage and claim to thereof. In the great scheme of things, it probably doesn’t matter. This is just more of a history question that anything else.

Wouldn’t it be safe to say that we, the Catholic Church, remains as the true tribe?

Are you somehow trying to discredit Judaism?

Not really. At least I don’t think so. There can only be one covenant with God. Judaism is at the heart and soul of where it began. However, since Christ, that covenant has been fulfilled and we therefore must continue with the new covenant. This did not replace the old. Rather, it is a continuance of the old, as Christians recognize it as being fulfilled. (I am not actually stating this as fact, per se. I am asking for clarification and a better articulation.)

I am French and in my language, MOT means WORD. I thought this thread was about the use of this french word in English. After reading your original post, I’m thinking that we are a religion of the Word. The Word made flesh that is so yes we are MOT people. Sorry for the digression, I have an artistic poetic twisted mind :slight_smile:

and to contribute to the thread:
Revelation chapter 7 with footnote: