Moving Parishes and Confirmation

I am a college student seeking confirmation, I received baptism and first communion as a child. This Lent has given me a chance to reflect on my faith and beliefs for myself (and not solely just based on what my family has told me). I have thought and prayed a lot about this since the beginning of the year and feel I am ready for confirmation.

I am very involved at my university parish and would like to be confirmed there but am not sure if I will have to wait until Easter 2010 to be confirmed with the next RCIA class. Also this summer I will be returning to my home parish but again am not sure about the rules of confirmation over the summer.

Is it possible to start confirmation and then move to another parish? Is RCIA the best option for those just seeking confirmation (ie I have somewhat self prepared for confirmation lots of reading, attending retreats, teaching catechism (1st grade), volunteer faith based alternative spring breaks, etc.)

Thanks for your help!

No, you would not have to wait until next Easter to be Confirmed. A University usually does not have the status of a Parish, you should speak with the pastor of the parish near your home. He would be responsible for overseeing your preparation and requesting the celebration of the Sacrament of Confirmation from the Bishop.

Hi, I’m in a very similar situation to you. I still have to make my confirmation and I contacted the Church on campus. I’ve been attending classes since September and will make my confirmation in April.
So, if your campus Church is like mine, you will have to wait until Easter 2010.

Check with your Catholic campus ministry. They should be well accustomed to dealing with students who were never confirmed as well as working around things like school breaks and finals.

By all means check with campus ministry or the parish staff at your University parish.