Moving to Philadelphia - looking for Good Catholic Church

Hi everybody,

My wife and I are moving to the Philadelphia area in June and are looking for a good Catholic community. We are moving for a job (I’m a lawyer - or will be if/when I pass the bar in July), and I will be working at the Cira Centre. My wife is an aspiring singer (both opera and musical theater), and we are really excited about our move. We will be living in Bryn Mawr, near Villanova University. We are a youngish couple (25 and 24) with no kids (yet). We’re looking for an active Catholic parish, with a fair amount of young couples and young families. We definitely are looking for an orthodox parish, involved in pro-life activities and other social justice activities. We’d love to find a parish to get invovled in find out how we can use our talents to serve God’s people.

Any advice on good parishes from people who live (or have lived) in the Philadelphia area would be appreciated. Thanks for all of the help.

Mark

I used to live near there.. I want to move back! I miss it a lot-
You have to attend St. Mark's Armenian Catholic Church at least once. It's an Eastern Catholic Church, it's great-

armenianeparchy.org/stmarks/

Awesome! Thanks for the tip, HyeDetroit. We will definitely check it out. What did you like about living in that area?

Anyone else with catholic churches that they would recommend in that area?

There are so many reasons why I liked living there-

The public transportation is really good. If you plan on working in the city of Philadelphia, you can take the regional rail into the heart of the city, they have buses, subways, taxis, trains… It’s just easier for people to get around. You don’t have to drive everywhere.

The city is jam packed full of history (I love American history). You can visit the old capital of the united states, ben franklins house, art museums, science museums, mutter museum.