MP3 panda, is it legal/safe?

here's the site: www.mp3panda.com

It's based in russia. My friend swears by it, but I don't know how safe it is, or if it's legal. Basically, you pay for credit in set amounts (like $20 ,30) and use the credit to buy songs and albums. Albums cost around $1.50, so you can see how attractive that would be. However, I was always suspicious of it's legality. Having tried to read their legal page, as near as I can tell, it's legal in Russia, but they make no promises about other jurisdictions.

So, is there anyone who has tried it. Is it legal here in the US, and is it safe?

I looked at their legal disclaimer and checked Google and, although I'm not a lawyer, I'd say no -- it references "international law and the laws of one's home country" and that you buy them to use for your use only. It does not need the DRM, which means you're not getting the licensed version, which would make it legal in the US.

In the US you can't buy an album for $1.50 legally - it's that simple.

I'd be happy to be proven wrong on this, but I don't think I am. It also sounds risky to be establishing a prepaid account if this really does originate from Russia.

Strictly my opinion, but I wouldn't use this service. The people who produce and market the music have the rights to profit from their efforts, and our US copyright laws guarantee that right.

[quote="challam2010, post:2, topic:213040"]
I looked at their legal disclaimer and checked Google and, although I'm not a lawyer, I'd say no -- it references "international law and the laws of one's home country" and that you buy them to use for your use only. It does not need the DRM, which means you're not getting the licensed version, which would make it legal in the US.

In the US you can't buy an album for $1.50 legally - it's that simple.

I'd be happy to be proven wrong on this, but I don't think I am. It also sounds risky to be establishing a prepaid account if this really does originate from Russia.