Muscle and a Shovel

A Protestant friend of mine (ex-Catholic) suggested that I read the book "Muscle and a Shovel ".
I understand that this book is anti-Catholic and I have no interest in reading it, but I would appreciate the comments from those who have read it.
Thanks!

I cant give you a answer to your question as I have never read the book or even heard of it. I decided to check out your thread because I work in construction so the thread title “Muscle and a Shovel” caught my attention :smiley:

I a non-Catholic Christian asked me to read a anti Catholic book I would agree. Not out of interest but because I feel I am very strong in my faith (I am a protestant convert to The Catholic Church so I did a lot of research before I decided to become Catholic) and I have heard almost every negative thing said about The Church and every argument and none of it impresses me or even comes close to the rock solid Catholic apologetics I have read that converted me.

But… before I agree to read a anti Catholic book, I would ask if they would agree to read a Catholic book. I would choose “Rome sweet home” by Scott Hahn. It is not anti-protestant but it very easily explains Dr. Hans The journey from Protestantism to Catholicism and the arguments that went on in his head that made him question protestant tradition (that includes Sola Scriptura, or “Bible Only” tradition)

If your friend is a ex-Catholic, I am guessing they have had a lot of false info about The Church planted in his head and does not even know The Truth about what a gift from God they have left behind. Why should you read a anti Catholic book if they wont read a Catholic book? But I only recommend this to Catholics strong in their faith, with a good foundation. Those who are not that strong in The Faith should not read anti-Catholic stuff if they don’t know much about Catholic apologetics. Just my opinion FWIW. God bless.

I meant “If” a non-Catholic Christian asked me to read a anti Catholic book