Music at Mass

Do you have to sing music that is in the missal or can the people doing the music during the Mass sing songs that they wrote themselves?

That would depend. When you say ‘sing music that is in the missal’ are you talking about hymns or about the music for the parts of the Mass? If it’s ‘hymns’ they can have their own songs approved by the bishop to make sure there are no doctrinal or theological errors.

If they are composers I guess they could write their own settings for the parts of the Mass but I haven’t met too many people in regular choirs who are qualified to do that.

I could; I’m a trained musician and a composer. But I haven’t been asked to join the church’s music program, and I haven’t tried to push my way in, choosing rather to sit in the pew and de-compose.

Bringing this to mind.

So, as a composers are you sometimes tempted to bang your head against the pew in frustration? I’m not a musician or a composer and I’m tempted to do that every time I hear the Canadian settings for the new translation. I can’t imagine what it must be like for someone who KNOWS music.

Music during the liturgy has to be approved by the bishop, so they usually approve a particular hymnal that parishes use.

I play piano at our church (in Canada :o ) and I had to learn the new Mass responses. It was simple, but I really don’t like them all that much. I wish we could ditch the piano and get some chant going…:slight_smile:

:smiley:

Tempted to bang my head? Not really. The bad melodies/harmonies are something I offer up, like the hard pews, or the two-year-old screaming his head off five rows back.

While your behavior is admirable, I just can’t tolerate bad music. Not out of the aesthetics but out of the seeming apathy many have towards improving the music; if one loves their Father they should work to best perfect the offering they’d like to present.