Music copying

I searched the forums and the Catechism, but I didn’t really get an answer to my questiosn. I apologize in advance if this is in the wrong forum, or has already been beaten to death!

Okay, little background here: I just recently “discovered” music…before it all had been just noise to me, except for a few favorites from Mass and patriotic/Christmas songs…basically ones everybody knows. A friend shared a YouTube video of Chris Tomlin singing Amazing Grace, and I fell in love with it…I could understand the lyrics, and the music was was new, but great! So now I’ve been on Pandora.com for a while listening to more CCM music. I finally bit the bullet and bought headphones specialized for hearing aids and cochelar implants, and just ordered an iPod. For the first time, I bought myself two music cds.

So, as you can see, I’m brand new to the music industry, and really don’t know all the rules about it. So, bear with me.

Is it legal/moral to copy the cds I buy onto my computer and my iPod? (I’m pretty sure this is okay)
How borrowing or copying friends’ cds? (because I didn’t pay to listen to them myself in CD form…on Pandora.com it says you can’t pick and chose what songs you want to listen to when. Is it the same as when you copy poems or short stories or a chapter from a book from the library, even though you didn’t buy it?)
If you buy songs from iTunes or the like, is it legal to copy it over onto your own cd?

One other question…when you buy songs/albums, is it better/cheaper to buy them from iTunes or the like, or to buy the CD (and why)?

Thanks so much for letting me pepper you with questions! :slight_smile:

This is an old one.

Obviously, your conscience is bothering you a little, or else you wouldn’t have asked this question. That is almost always a clue that the action we wish to take is probably wrong.

Answers: Copying the music is both illegal and violates the commandment thou shall not steal, and thus a mortal sin.