Music downloads

I think this was asked in a different thread but I don't think it was answered. I previously didn't believe that downloading was a sin, and have now come to see that it is. However, I now have a collection of music on my computer, some of which came via iTunes and some from downloads - I do not remember which is which, as my iTunes broke and deleted my entire purchase history. What should I do?

Hi.

This one’s right up my alley: I’m an Apple computer technician as well as someone who lost a hard drive and most of its data.

You’re right on the questionable downloads…consider this a purge by God. If you’ve confessed the use of stolen music already, you’re good.

Now to get back your purchases.

It may be that iTunes itself is only broken, but your iTunes Library, a folder in My Documents/My Music (on Windows) or the Music folder (on a Mac) may still remain. First try to use the Store–>Deauthorize Computer in iTunes if you can launch it, then uninstall and reinstall iTunes and add your Apple ID and authorize the computer.

You can use iTunes 8.0 or later (9.1 is the current version) to restore your stuff if you still have your iPod and it still contains your purchases. This Apple support page summarizes how to use the Transfer from your iPod option to pull your purchased music from the iPod itself. It won’t move your non-purchased music.

Officially, Apple allows you one download. But Apple foresees that some people will have a catastrophe data loss and not have foresight to make backups. If you cannot retrieve your music, call Apple Support at 800-275-2273 if you have an iPod, or 800-694-7466 if you have an iPhone. Apple has been known to allow a one-time complete re-download of all your purchases on one Apple ID, after a little groveling from you and a big lecture from them on the concept of BACKUP, BACKUP, BACKUP. :slight_smile:

Good luck.