Music in the Mass

I am a musician for my parish and struggling with the idea of how to handle this. I am from a small parish, in a small diocese. The nearest Catholic Church (aside from mine) is 40 miles away. The problem I am having is that music is highly debated at my parish. The pastor (otherwise known as the only non-retired priest within 40 miles), wants music at every Sunday Mass, Holy Days, Funerals, and Weddings. The retired priest at our parish doesn’t like music because it makes the Masses longer (we target 45 minutes including music) The congregation believes that music is either sacriligeous (I sing songs that the Bishop recommends, songs that quote the scripture of the weekend, and traditional hymns such as “Ave Maria” for funerals) or something that should only be sung by the choir alone, and will not volunteer for the choir no matter how much we plead. The musicians in our parish are myself (pianist/organist/soprano), my husband (tenor), and two older/elderly ladies who play the organ when they can, but can/will not sing. Because I cannot get anyone else to sing, I feel that either my husband or myself must attend all masses (funeral, wedding, weekend, holy day, etc) at our church and we have not been able to take a vacation over a weekend for three years. This long diatribe leads to my question, is it sinful to go against the wishes of the pastor and go see our family (natural or in-laws) for Christmas which we haven’t done in four years, or is it sinful to help out at Christmas Mass and neglect our family? Again, there will be no music at Christmas Mass (especially Midnight Mass) if we do not go. Also, I am about to have a baby (due Holy Thursday). Is it sinful for me to tell my husband (the only other singer) that I expect him at the hospital when I have the child, regardless of the Triduum which would be silent if neither of us were there?