Muslims, can you answer these questions?

Hello. I am a student of Arabic at a major university. I have two copies of the Koran, and frequently talk with Muslims as well as non-Muslims about Islam.

Here are some good questions I have come up with.

1. In Sura 19 (Maryam) the birth of Jesus was said to occur under a palm tree. There are no palm trees in Bethlehem/Jerusalem area. It regularly recieves snow.

2. Mohammed’s Isra to Masjid al-Aqsa is impossible, seeing as there was no mosque in Jerusalem at that time.

3. Human life was said to begin with a “blood clot”. I know this one has been gone over before, but fact remains, life does not begin with a blood clot.

4. There are many, many, many wacky Hadith. There are so many that my friends and I regularly hold “Hadith Parties” in which we read the Hadith and laugh at some of its absurdities. Here are several of the funnier ones.

“Do not wear silk, for those who wear it in this life shall not wear it in the Hereafter.”

“The Angels (of Mercy) do not enter a house wherein there is a picture.”

“We, angels, do not enter a house which contains a picture or a dog.”

Umar bought a silk cloak from the market, took it to Allah’s Apostle and said, “O Allah’s Apostle! Take it and adorn yourself with it during the 'Id and when the delegations visit you.” Allah’s Apostle (p.b.u.h) replied, “This dress is for those who have no share (in the Hereafter).” After a long period Allah’s Apostle (p.b.u.h) sent to Umar a cloak of silk brocade. Umar came to Allah’s Apostle (p.b.u.h) with the cloak and said, “O Allah’s Apostle! You said that this dress was for those who had no share (in the Hereafter); yet you have sent me this cloak.” Allah’s Apostle said to him, “Sell it and fulfill your needs by it.”

Allah forbade us to use silver utensils and dishes and to wear golden rings, silk (clothes), Dibaj (pure silk cloth), Qissi and Istabraq (two kinds of silk cloths).