Muslims, children of Ishmael?

When I was a foot soldier in Iraq during the years 2004 and 2006, the Iraqi civilians would always tell me that Islam came from Hagar and Ishmael. I can only find a little proof in Galatians 4:21 . Please comment, what do you think?

Yes, Islam came from Hagar and her son Ishmael, and Muhammed is a descendent of Ishmael, what is wrong with that?:confused:

BUT is it truly from THE MOST HIGH, that is completely a different story…

:confused: Paul said:
“Now Hagar stands for Mount Sinai in Arabia and corresponds to the present city of Jerusalem, because she is in slavery with her children.”

But there was no religion at that time in Arabia, they were pagans!
And what is present city of Jerusalem in Arabia?

Paul said:
“But what does Scripture say? “Get rid of the slave woman and her son, for the slave woman’s son will never share in the inheritance with the free woman’s son.”

The actual Scripture which Paul is referring to:
Sarah said to Abraham, “Get rid of that slave woman and her son, for that woman’s son will never share in the inheritance with my son Isaac.”
:frowning: :(:frowning: I don’t understand how Paul did not include that in his quote, when someone says “the Scripture says” it implies that the Holy Spirit is saying that, but actually in that particular quote Sarah was the one who said that. https://forums.catholic.com/images/icons/icon4.gif

It sounds rash, I’ve never heard anyone preacher or priest touch this topic.

There is evidence of Christians living in Arabia following the religion of Collyridianism.

Well, yes, Abraham [peace be upon him] is our father inasmuch as, through his offspring, people of all nations will be blessed. He’s called ‘an imam to the nations’. If you’d like to read about this in full [from an Islamic perspective], there’s a beautiful passage in the Qur’an about it; in surah 2:124-141: quran.com/2/124-141

It’s a very long passage, so, God willing, I’ll try to summarise it.