Muslims? please read.

I have a question… I am a catholic but I work as a corrections officer in a prison. Contrary to what most believe I have found muslims to be peacfull and extremely polite and respectful of woman. I believe that violating their religion is wrong so this often conflicts with my job. I do not know much about their religion and I try to make as manny allowances as I can.

Durring Ramadon last year I was often made fun of by other officers because I refused to pat search any muslim or in anyway interupt their prayers or touch their prayer rugs. I was hypervigilant about how thier food was made and refused to allow it to be cooked on any serface that meat had touched. I had made it clear to the man of that faith that once Ramadon was over that I had no choice but return to normal operations. However because I don’t know much about their religion feel that I violate it in some way in my day to day dealings and I feel guilty because it violates what I believe to violate their religion.

Right now if I walk in on them praying I do not bother them. I glance long enough to make sure of security and bow avert my eyes and walk away. I make sure that I do not touch their holy things when on my monthly and still refuse to touch the prayer rug rather I have them unfold it and then place it in a secure place where I won’t touch it inadvertantly.

Am I wrong to do this and is there more I don’t know about that I should be watching for. I am very resourcefull and can figure out how to do things and still maintain security.

I am not Muslim, but I appreciated you post very much…it was very refreshing. I will hold you in the Light. Peace.

Hi

I thank you for your courteous and polite behaviour with them.
May GodAllahYHWH bless you!

Thanks