Must listen for all Catholics! The Emergent Church

Have you heard of the Emergent (Emerging) Church?

Many protestants are concerned about this new group/denomination/split. It has been called a new reforrmation.

I’m not an expert on this Emergent Church, but some of what I have heard is that there is a desire of some bible only Christians desire to go back to the sacraments, icons, candles, etc.

Below are 2 links from a protestant show that I think many will find very interesting.

oneplace.com/Ministries/Understanding_the_Times/?bcd=9/21/2006

oneplace.com/Ministries/Understanding_the_Times/?bcd=9/22/2006

I would suggest this “Emergent Church” is a false imitation of Catholicism. These Evangelicals are afraid the Catholic Church is somehow behind the “Emergent Church”, but the Emergent Church views on several issues are diametrically opposed to Catholicism. People keep looking for the Catholic Church to become this one world church with the evil Pope as its head, but it doesn’t really work.

I would suggest that this is an unduly paranoid attitude. Why not see it the other way round–as a manifestation of the natural and legitimate desire for aspects of Catholicism from which Protestants have foolishly alienated themselves?

Furthermore, the term is coming to be used as a broad catchphrase to cover a lot of very different things. No one really knows what it means, but everyone is excited about it (one way or the other). Like so many Protestant movements, it’s anything but a “denomination”–it’s a very loose set of trends.