My boyfriend broke up with me to go to seminary school

Hello.

This is my first time posting, I’ve been having a hard time dealing with this on my own so I wanted to get other people’s input to see how to deal with this situation. About two months ago my boyfriend told me he thought he was being called to the priesthood and said he would be leaving for school in three months, so we broke up.

Shocked doesn’t even begin to describe how I felt. We had been together about a year and were so in love. He was such a wonderful boyfriend, very caring and giving. All of my friends and family as well as his pretty much thought we were made for each other. He always talked about our future and getting married and our kids, etc. I felt safe with him, because of how much he talked about our future and how much I could tell through his actions that he loved me. So him telling me this pretty much crushed my whole world.

He said he first felt the pull a few years ago, but never mentioned it to me because he wanted it to go away and was scared about how it would change our relationship. I felt so sad, not only because I was losing him but also because he had never shared this very important part of his life with me.

We cried for a long time together and I told him I’d support him even though I was sad. I know he has many doubts about what lies ahead and whether or not he is truely called to be a priest. He tells me it’s not a choice and and that he wants to be with me and prayed for the feelings to go away but they won’t, so now he has to go to school and find out whether or not this is truely what he’s being called to do.