My Daily prayer rule

As everyone in this Eastern Catholic subforum knows that I’m new to byzantine Catholic way of praying. I have already created and icon corner. How should I start praying in a byzantine way of praying.

Start simple. Pray the Jesus Prayer for 15 minutes a day.

5 Likes

So how can I start praying the Jesus prayer?
Loud or soft? At morning or evening? At which pace? Fast or slow? Should I pray it while standing or sitting? What is the eastern catholic way of praying (For an example should I empty my mind before praying) what are the preparations I should do before prayer? What should I do while praying?

You can begin by praying slowly in a low voice or a whisper (although you don’t have to speak at all). If you’re praying in front of your icon corner, it’s best to stand, but you’re welcome to pray while sitting. Time of day doesn’t matter. Choose the time that you’re best able to focus. Personally I have to pray early in the morning because if I wait until the evening my mind is going crazy with all the distractions from the day. My wife, on the other hand, does better praying in the evening.

Try to clear your mind as much as possible (or, as they say in the Byzantine Divine Liturgy “lay aside all earthly cares”) before diving into the Jesus Prayer, but don’t get discouraged if/when distractions or “thoughts” arise. This is inevitable. You have one of two options at this point. You can either ignore whatever “thoughts” or distractions come along and gently turn your mind back to your prayer, or you can speak to the Lord about the distractions and “thoughts” you’re experiencing. But always come back to the Jesus Prayer.