My Father

I am a college student who lives on my own, but I talk to my father almost weekly. Well, today I talked to him and he said something I don’t know how to handle it. He said that he learned about Budhism and he wants to figure out how to practice it. He is a Catholic and I don’t know what to do. Anyone have any advice?

Hi! Some things we have to consider here. Did your father mean he wanted to convert to Buddhism and totally abandon the Catholic faith or does he want to practice some Buddhist principles that may still be in accord with Catholicism?
If your Dad is all bent on becoming Buddhist then I guess you should leave it at that for now. Let's pray that he gets more enlightened about his decision and maybe realize later that being a Catholic is still worth it. God bless!

Buddhism and Catholicism have so much in common. Both involve ridding the self of attachments in order to achieve something. However, in Catholicism, the end goal is love and service to others. In Buddhism, the end goal is...nothing.

Perhaps what he is searching for is a deeper sense in which he can rid himself of attachments...a greater purification of himself. Talk with him about whether he is looking more for a deeper involvement in this process (which Buddhism makes much more accessible than Catholicism) or whether he is truly looking to detach himself from all things, including love.

If you have time, you might want to read and study this, so you have a better idea of what he is exploring.

newadvent.org/cathen/03028b.htm

The trouble is that these elements of Catholicism (ridding the self of attachments) are a bit harder to get to, and less accessible, whereas in Buddhism they are right on the surface. Talk with him about what attracts him to Buddhism, and listen a lot to what he has to say. It may be that he is simply seeking a different kind of involvement in Catholicism, but doesn't know how to find it.

I agree with the above.