My first real debate!

So, I’ve accepted a debate invite with Dr. Sonny Hernandez. The topic is “Is Roman Catholicism Biblical?”. I am an aspiring apologist, but I’ve never done this before. He looks to be pretty light on his feet and aggressive but based on our conversation he’s open to having more of a constructive dialogue than a combative debate. He claims to be fluent in NT Greek and he’s a traditional Reformed Christian, raised Catholic.

Do you have any tips or resources that would help me out? Books to read? The debate is in April 2018, so I have plenty of time to prepare.

youtube.com/watch?v=ekMQL3JdXzM

I’d be careful. You say that you’re an amateur apologist. Desiring to debate is great and all, but you have to remember that you are representing Catholicism, Christ’s Church on Earth, and the bastion of all Truth. You should only enter into this debate if you’ve had sufficient training, and a handful of months really isn’t enough…

I encourage what you’re doing insofar as engaging with Protestants to help show them the Truth is great, but be careful. You don’t want to be responsible for someone failing to come to the Truth.

As to your actual question about preparation, are you allowed notes? If so, I would prepare references and Biblical passages that point to the most common objections to Catholicism. I personally would focus on:

• The establishment a central authority to lead Christ’s people, the primacy of Peter in the NT (Upon this Rock, by Steve Ray is an excellent resource for this)
  • The historicity and Biblical basis for a limited, sacramental priesthood, as opposed to a universal lay-priesthood like in Protestantism.
  • The authority to forgive sins being given to the Apostles and passed on through apostolic succession.
  • The Biblical support for the other sacraments.
  • Biblical support for praying to the Saints, and by extension for the Communion of Saints.